Luxe Menswear, Part One (Isaia)

Lately, I’ve been stepping up my game, as the saying goes, when it comes to finding stuff to resell. With that goal in mind, I’ve been scouring the racks for high-end menswear of the sort that you’re more likely to find on the streets of Paris, Milan or London than on my back.

The first brand I’m going to look at in this series is my personal favorite, Isaia of Napoli (Naples, Italy). Italy has long been known as the goto place for luxurious menswear. From what I understand, Isaia is considered one of the top brands from Italy (others being Kiton, Belvest, Ermenegildo Zegna, Borrelli, Attolini, et…). I tend to appreciate their styles more than other makers.

But then, I like bold plaid patterns, and Isaia excels at those. The red coral icon stands out as well: if you see that in a thrift shop, zero in on the item!

I’ve picked up 12 pieces from Isaia recently. The first was a sport coat that I actually thrifted for a very reasonable price. It hasn’t sold yet, but it’s only a matter of time… The retail price on these can be upwards of $2500!

_MG_0056

_MG_0062

_MG_0066

More recently, I’ve picked up a tie and some pocket squares. These would make perfect gifts for Christmas, hence the speed at which they were listed after being acquired!

_MG_0001

_MG_0007

_MG_0012

_MG_0016

_MG_0025

_MG_0030

_MG_0034

_MG_0051_MG_0024

I aim to grow my business by selling more new products online. It’s just easier than dealing with used (and often smelly or dirty) clothing. And the margins can be higher if you play it right. Of course, the investment is higher, so do proceed with caution!

Leave a Reply

