Vintage Fleece

One of my favorite things to find in thrift shops is old fleece jackets. I love seeing the history of outdoors clothing spread out as if in a time lapse in reverse order. Some of my favorite items have been old print patterns by Polartec made by companies like REI an Early Winters.

My favorite of the fleeces, however, tend to be from one company. That company is Patagonia, of course… When I was in high school and college, Patagonia, was THE brand to have for outdoorsy people. We lived for the stuff. Unfortunately, it was always very expensive, leading to the brand’s nickname, Patagucci.

A few weeks ago, I found three Patagonia jackets in a single shop, one from the 80s, one from the 90s, and one relatively current one. The older of the jackets is the one that piqued my interest the most.

I haven’t figured out the exact date on the fleece yet, but I’m pretty sure that it comes from the late 1980s. The rib knit cuffs and waist opening speak to a particular point in my childhood. I can picture friends from high school wearing similar jackets that were handed down from their older siblings or parents.

This fleece comes from a time when Patagonia made everything in their catalog right here in California. Nothing was outsourced to Asian countries with cheap labor. It was made right here in the USA. The stuff was built to last and was truly the best of the best.

Without boring you with too many words, here are some pics of this wonderful fleece. I sure wish it was a large so I could wear it!

_MG_0204

_MG_0205

_MG_0207

_MG_0208

_MG_0213

Leave a Reply

