Thrifting Awesome #2

Yeah, so it’s been a while… Every single time I come here to add a post; I think, “Man, it’s been a long time!”. It’s hard to find time to blog when you’re out scouring the world for stuff to sell!

This series should really have more than two entries, but I’m a bit behind on mentioning some of the really cool stuff I’ve found this year. My consignment business is starting to go places, so that’s consuming more and more of time, but also bringing in more and more money, which is of course good!

Today’s find undoubtedly deserves grail status. The only thing that would make it better is if it was labeled as one of the other brands for which this company makes leather goods (think super-expensive and French, what comes to mind? Hermès, no doubt… Well, did you know that there is a company which still makes leather goods in the same section of Paris where leather goods were made during the time of Napoleon? And did you know that this company is known for making some of the finest leather goods in the world, and they do make leather goods for Hermès?

You can be forgiven if you haven’t heard of the French company Seraphin. It’s a somewhat obscure company founded in 1975 in Paris. Whether you’ve heard of them or not, if you pick up one of their jackets, you will know it is very well constructed.

What I found today is a leather jacket made from aniline leather. It has some of the finest detailing I’ve ever seen on an article of cllothing, down to the Riri zippers, Flox buttons, and removable faux fur collar. It’s insulated with a quilted liner, and is far too warm a thing to find in a thrift shop on an 86 degree day!

The price was a bit up there, but given some of the prices I’ve found online for these things, I am happy with the purchase. The condition is mostly excellent: there’s a bit of wear showing on the interior and around the zippers. The thing is freakin’ awesome though! Retail prices for Seraphin jackets seem to range from $3000 to $5000 for leather and up to $51,000 for crocodile skin!! I’d really love to find that thing in a thrift shop!

So yeah, keep your eyes peeled. If something stands out, check it out!

_MG_0052

_MG_0055

_MG_0059

_MG_0062

_MG_0063

_MG_0064

_MG_0065

_MG_0066

A

B

C

D

F

G

3 thoughts on “Thrifting Awesome #2

  1. Please keep posting – yours is one of my favorite blogs – you find the best stuff! My thrifting and selling has taken a backseat to my traditional job, but I still hang out on the thrifting blogs for relaxation purposes. And what do you know, once in a while something that I found and listed long ago actually SELLS! It is still a thrill every time. Update us when you sell this jacket – inquiring minds want to know. . . . .

  2. Oh, such a bummer to have to return to the grind! This thrifting thing has turned into a full time career path for me, so I’m looking forward to seeing where it leads! Thanks for the kind words, I’ll try to be more on top of things…

    I finally got around to listing the coat this morning. My wife and I were traveling for almost a month, so I’m a bit behind on posting stuff here, and listing stuff on Ebay. I sent home two boxes via FedEx from Cour d’Alene, Idaho, and have just barely begun digging into those. My next post will be dedicated to a couple of cool bits of outdoors clothing I acquired in eastern Washington… =)

Leave a Reply

