Interesting Things I’ve Learned

Today, I learned a couple of interesting things… The first lesson that I learned is that it is entirely possible to drive 50 miles to join a group bike ride only to find out that the bike that was functioning perfectly two days ago now will not shift. Point taken… I had some time to kill, and I was 50 miles from home. I used the Yelp app on my phone to find the nearest thrifts. There were two Goodwills, one Salvation Army and another “independent thrift” within easy range.

I went to the nearer Goodwill first because it opened sooner. I found a few of nice aloha shirts (a Paradise Found World War I Warplanes Aloha shirt (NWT), a Patagonia “geometric fish” camp shirt, and a Kahala aloha shirt (a new brand to me, but quite well-made).

I’ve put up the Patagonia and Paradise Found shirts (along with another Paradise Found shirt that I found yesterday) up on Ebay. I think they will all sell for a decent price, but we’ll see.

After striking out at the Salvation Army store, I took a 17 mile drive to the next town south to hit the other Goodwill. This Goodwill is so far off my beaten path that I held little hope for it. But it turned out to be the hit of the day! This place is so far outside my normal that when they did the announcement about “keeping your kids under control”, they did it in Spanish before doing it in English.

Anyway, I found a nice Tori Richard aloha shirt, which you might recall from posts earlier this year is my favorite brand from Hawaii. My size too! That makes two keeper aloha shirts on the day. But the real find came in the coats section…

k1

pat4

PF3

tr1

Given all the research I’ve done on the good, the great and the awesome brands of men’s fashion, it was no surprise when one of the sport coats stood out. The build quality was obviously a notch ahead of anything else I’ve seen. The subtle plaid pattern of browns and blues in a soft tweed-like fabric stood out as well. I looked at the label and thought I was dreaming for a second. Hickey-Freeman is one of the best-regarded American clothiers for men. Their sportcoats start in the $900 range at retail. This one turned out to be one of the lower end ones, but it’s still quite nice. The best part? You guessed it… It’s my size, and it’s in immaculate condition. Not bad for $10, eh?

HF1

HF4

HF5

I also found a couple of interesting sweaters and other things yesterday which I need to bring in from my car and take pictures of. There was a nice long-sleeve running shirt from Salomon, a nice pair of Worn Jeans (super comfy brand I’d never heard of before!), a pair of waterproof hiking pants from The North Face, and a nice sweater from a local boutique (one of those places where prices start in the $200 range). Some will be destined for Ebay and some for my closet.

Here’s my Aloha Friday contribution for yesterday… Paradise Found Aloha Shirt (thrifted), Nat Nast jeans (thrifted), Chaco slippers (clearance rack find) and Hawaiian hook necklace (purchased from a vendor at the Kailua-Kona, HI farmers market less than two weeks ago).

aloha Friday image

Leave a Reply

