Burberrys, J Crew and Look

I’m not sure what it is about that one particular Goodwill store… I always feel like I’m passing into some sort of vintage fun-house of cool stuff. I didn’t find any nice sweaters to flip on Ebay, but as I was cruising them, I glanced up and spotted a wall of lycra on the next aisle. There was a virtual bonanza of cycling gear. Much of it was not my size, but the stuff that was my size ended up in my basket: a Look Pro Cycling Team windbreaker (NWT!), Look Pro Cycling Team sleeveless jersey and a Look Pro Cycling Team polo shirt. I skipped on a bunch of Cisco Systems race team gear, only because it was all size small, and the prices weren’t really good enough to try to flip them on Ebay (I have no idea what they would fetch, but another shopper took them a few minutes later). My only regret on that aisle was that I missed the North Face goretex jacket… I got distracted by a Timbuk2 messenger bag. Someone else snagged the jacket. But I was to score in a minute…

I’m always on the lookout for tweed: I have this hope of finding a vintage sport coat in a nice Harris Tweed from the 1950s or earlier. I’ve found a few heavily worn ones, but nothing really prime yet. I didn’t today either, but I did find a nice early 1990s J. Crew Mohair/Wool jacket. It’s a little big on me, but is in great condition. It may go up on Ebay in a day or two as the recent activity settles down.

I also scored a San Francisco 49ers polo shirt in my size in good condition. But the most interesting find was yet to come. As I wandered around the nicknack section, I noticed a nice looking two-piece suit on the rack behind the counter (where they keep the really high-end stuff). The suit appeared to be roughly my size. I headed off to try it on… The suit seems to have been used (if at all!) very little. Everything appears in perfect condition.

I never in a million years thought that I would willingly spend over a hundred dollars on a single item at a thrift shop. But this is a Burberrys suit top and bottom. The fit is a touch on the slim side around the waist, but I’m pretty sure it can be let out a little. There’s no label saying what the material is, but it feels like a wool or wool blend. The closest match I can find online is the following one, which retails for $1295. I paid $103 (it was even on the 20% off sale for today on green tags, and the cashier gave me a discount on the cycling jacket as well just to be nice). I have 30 days to decide if I want to keep it or not (I can return it, but only for store credit; so if I do, that’s going to be a heck of a shopping spree at that store!).</p.

Burberry Suit

So, what do you think? Is it worth hanging onto? Is it worth having a $1300 suit that fits me better than the $500 one I bought two years ago?

One thought on “Burberrys, J Crew and Look

Leave a Reply

